Wednesday, January 11, 2012

Dustin Wong Announces Album - Dreams Say, View, Create, Shadow Leads

Dustin Wong announced his new album, Dreams Say, View, Create, Shadow Leads will be released on February 20th, 2012 through Thrill Jockey. Dustin created a video for the closing track of the album, "Diagonally Talking Echo".


1. Ice Sheets on Feet Prints
2. Feet Prints on Flower Dreads
3. Abstract Horse Slow Motion
4. Tea Tree Leaves Retreat
5. Triangle Train Stop
6. Toe Tore Oh
7. On/In the Way
8. Pink Diamond
9. Purple Slipped Right
10. Route Through Eyebrow
11. Sprinkle Wet Toes
12. Pencil Drove Hill Moon
13. Evening Curves Straight
14. Back Towards Night
15. Space Tunnel Graffiti
16. Diagonally Talking Echo

With regard to his process, Dustin Wong told Thrill Jockey:

"When I begin to explore and to build a song through a series of pedals, I
begin with the tuner. It helps keep my guitar's pitch consistent. An octave
pedal and the distortion pedals allows me to change the textures and colors of
the guitar. The delay pedal determines the tempo and the pattern. Once these
sounds are determined, it then gets replicated and repeated through a loop
pedal. Repeating that process, I lay different sounds and melodies on top. After
the loop pedal comes the envelope filter that changes the color of the sounds
but in a different way, more like a blend or like a dye. At the end of this
chain of pedals awaits another delay pedal that corresponds to the delay pedal
before the looper, further accentuating and changing the patterns of the loop.

I see all these pedals as a kind of textile factory. The sheets and colors
are determined then the patterns are laid on top, one layer after another until
it becomes a fabric mille feuille. Once that cake looks done it gets replicated
again through another delay pedal. I can keep building these sounds on top each
other and decide whether I want to take half of the cakes slices or not, if i
do, I can gaze at the symmetrical void of what I have taken.

I changed the recording process for Dreams Say, View, Create, Shadow
Leads from the process used for Infinite Love. In Infinite
Love I recorded every layer as a separate track dividing them up throughout
the stereo-field, but in Dreams Say… it was all mostly recorded live with
a few overdubs moving around in the stereo-field. The presentation of songs are
also different, Infinite Love was presented as a whole, and in Dreams
Say… I decided to have titles for each song or idea. In a way the physical
documentation and the presentation of the idea got switched. Just like choosing
how to see a light through a prism. Whether to see the fragmented light into the
prism and out to the single ray of light or the other way around."

Pre-order Dreams Say, View, Create, Shadow Leads from Thrill Jockey.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails